Governance – the first thing ……

Ah, take me back to 1973 and Bobby Goldsboro’s “Summer – the First Time” …..

How those lyrics must have made seventeen year old boys feel about their initiation into manhood ……. Remember how they go?

It was a hot afternoon,
Last day of June,
And the sun was a demon,
The clouds were afraid,
One-ten in the shade,
And the pavement was steaming.
I drank my lat-te,
And I told Chardonnay,
I needed time for some thinking.
I was just walking by,
When I looked in his eye,
And I swore it was winking.

He was 31 and I was 17,
I knew nothing about love, he knew everything,
When I sat down beside him on the front porch swing,
I wondered what the coming night would bring.

And when he looked at me,
I heard him softly say,
I know you’re young,
You don’t know what to do or say,
But stay with me until the sun has gone away,
And I will chase the doubts in you away.

And then he smiled and we talked for a while,
And we walked for a mile to the sea,
We sat on the sand, and I just held his hand,
But I saw the sun rise with that man.

Ten years have gone by,
Since I looked in his eye,
But the memory lingers,
I got back in my mind,
To the very first time,
And feel the touch of his fingers,

It was a hot afternoon,
Last day of June,
And the sun was a demon,
The clouds were afraid,
One-ten in the shade,
And the pavement was steaming…

….

And now you’ve read those amended lyrics, how do you feel about the storyline? Still OK with it? Is there any sense that what’s being described isn’t QUITE right?

So, it’s not just me then that feels there isn’t the same romantic, coming-of-age feel to a seventeen year girl being seduced by a thirty one year old man as in the original song? Thought not ….

So what’s the link with governance?

“Governance (the First Thing we should know)” – a reminder that if your headteacher is deciding unilaterally how often the full governing body will meet, which committees you will have, what reports he or she will provide, what training the governing body needs, who will clerk your meetings, etc etc – then just possibly governance is slightly awry, and few warning feelings should be telling you that things are not QUITE right in the balance of “holding the school to account”.

The first thing” new governors should know about governance is that it is for the GB to decide on the frequency of meetings, the committee structure and the appointment of the clerk. And now, back to Bobby ….

 

Original lyrics: Bobby Goldsboro – Summer (The First Time)

It was a hot afternoon,
Last day of June,
And the sun was a demon,
The clouds were afraid,

One-ten in the shade,
And the pavement was steaming.
I told Billy-Ray,
In his red Chevrolet,

I needed time for some thinking,
I was just walking by,
When I looked in her eye,
And I swore it was winking.

She was 31 and I was 17,
I knew nothing about love, she knew everything,
When I saw down beside her on the front porch swing,
And wondered what the coming night would bring.

The sun closed her eyes,
As it climbed in the sky,
And it started to swelter,
The sweat trickled down the front of her gown,
And I thought it would melt her.

She threw back her hair,
Like I wasn’t there,
And she sipped on a julep,
Her shoulders were bare,
And I tried not to stare,
When I looked at her two lips.

And when she looked at me,
I heard her softly say,
I know you’re young,
You don’t know what to do or say,
But stay with me until the sun has gone away,
And I will chase the boy in you away.

And then she smiled and we talked for a while,
And we walked for a mile to the sea,
We sat on the sand, and the boy took her hand,
But I saw the sun rise as a man.

Ten years have gone by,
Since I looked in her eye,
But the memory lingers,
I got back in my mind,
To the very first time,
And feel the touch of her fingers,

It was a hot afternoon,
Last day of June,
And the sun was a demon,
The clouds were afraid,
One-ten in the shade,
And the pavement was steaming…

 

This entry was posted in Various (songs) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

